Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

Books I Want to Read May 28, 2007

Filed under: Books — Emily @ 8:51 am

The following books fall into one of two categories, so I will divide them accordingly. Some of them are books that I own but have either never read or started reading and didn’t finish. And some are books that I simply want to read but haven’t gotten around to yet. My plan is to eventually actually finish reading some of these books, at which time I will remove them from the list. But I will probably also continue adding more books. Please feel free to make suggestions about any books I should add or remove (include a good reason for doing so).

Category One: Books on My Shelves

  • The Screwtape Letters – C.S. Lewis
  • Bee Season – Myla Goldberg
  • Cry, the Beloved Country – Alan Paton
  • Cane River – Lalita Tademy
  • Penguins and Golden Calves: Icons and Idols in Antarctica and Other Unexpected Places – Madeleine L-Engle
  • The Professor and the Madman – Simon Winchester

Category Two: Books Beyond My Shelves

  • The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audry Niffennegger (I’m nearly halfway through this one, so this should be an easy one to finish and cross off the list)
  • Water for Elephants – Sara Gruen
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns Khaled Hosseini
  • Fast Food Nation – Eric Schlosser
  • The Meaning of Everything: The Story of the Oxford English Dictionary – Simon Winchester
  • The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay – Michael Chabon
 

4 Responses to “Books I Want to Read”

  1. James McD Says:

    I can recommend no book higher than The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. Upon finishing I was heartbroken to have left the characters behind. Michael Chabon is beyond compare. Next on my list is his new book The Yiddish Policeman’s Union. Hopefully I can get through it before Harry Potter.

    I purchased up The Time Traveler’s wife last year but have yet to pick it up.

    Right now I am finishing Phillip Pullman’s His Dark Material’s trilogy. The first is great, the following two are good…but a bit unsettling. I will have to reserve judgment until I have finished.

    I just read No Country For Old Men by Cormac Macarthy. I enjoyed it a great deal, but I don’t know too many people to whom I would recommend it.

    Have you read any books by Dave Eggers?

  2. Emily Says:

    James, I’ve read a couple of books by Michael Chabon, and based on your glowing recommendation, I think I’ll move The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay to the top of my “read next” list. Right now I am nearing completion of HP and the Order of the Phoenix, and then I will read HP and the Half-Blood Prince. (I’m re-reading the series in preparation for the Book 7 release). So, after I finish those I will hopefully pick up Kavalier and Clay. And no, I haven’t read any Dave Eggers books. Should I? Here’s one for you: Have you read anything by Nick Hornby?

  3. James McD Says:

    Oddly enough I have read a lot by Nick Horby, but only non-fiction. He has a monthly column in the Believer magazine and I also have his book ‘The Polysyllabic Spree’ which is pretty much a year in the life of his reading habits. So, fiction wise, I haven’t read a thing which is a real shame and something I know I need to correct. Any suggestions on where to start?

    If you like Wonderboys and the other Chabon books you will love Kavalier & Clay. It leaves the others in the dust, though for as long as I have had it I have yet to read ‘Mysteries of Pittsburgh’.

    Lets see how to put this…I LOVE Dave Eggers. I think if you like Chabon and Horby you will naturally gravitate to Dave Eggers. When you get a chance pick up his book ‘A Heartbreaking Work Of Staggering Genius.’ Amazingly enough, it lives up to it’s title. ‘You Shall Know Our Velocity!’ is good as well. His newest book ‘What is the What?’ has garnered a great deal of critical praise and is likely better than ‘Velocity’, though I can’t really say as I am only about 100 pages in.

  4. Emily Says:

    Thanks for the suggested reading, James. A good starting point for Nick Hornby fiction is High Fidelity, but if you have seen that movie or the movie version of About a Boy and want to read something that hasn’t been adapted to film, I suggest A Long Way Down. I really enjoyed the development of the four main characters, and the way that they shared narrating duties.
    I’ve put those books you mentioned on my Amazon wishlist until I can go buy them or get them at the library.


Leave a Reply

