Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

My Favorite Movie Soundtracks June 4, 2007

Filed under: Movies,Music — Emily @ 9:29 am

I love movie soundtracks, because unlike many individual artist’s albums, every song is usually good. Another reason I like them is that they reflect the atmosphere of the movie, thus remind us of how a good movie made us feel.

Elizabethtown– This is one of my favorite movies, and that is probably due in large part to the excellent soundtrack, which features Elton John’s “My Father’s Gun.” There is actually a “Volume 1” and a “Volume 2” soundtrack, and both are equally good.

Good Will Hunting This movie that introduced us to Matt Damon and Ben Affleck had a soundtrack that introduced me to Elliott Smith and his mellow music.

MagnoliaI was surprised by how good this quirky movie was, with its motley crew of characters, frogs falling from the sky, and unconventional narrative structure. I also love the soundtrack, which introduced me to Aimee Mann’s voice and talents.

Moulin RougeLove it or hate it, this movie has a great soundtrack. I love the movie AND the soundtrack. I really liked the movie’s transformation of pop songs into musical extravaganzas.

Sleepless in Seattle – This movie’s soundtrack especially set the mood of the movie, as it was a throwback to an earlier era (even though the movie was set in modern times). This remains one of the only albums I own that features songs that were released before 1970 (along with the Forrest Gump soundtrack). My very favorite song on the album is Tammy Wynette’s “Stand By Your Man.”

Runners-Up: Garden State, My Best Friend’s Wedding, Muriel’s Wedding


 

5 Responses to “My Favorite Movie Soundtracks”

  1. Leah Says:

    I think someone must have a lot of time on her hands. 🙂 What about the “Never Been Kissed” soundtrack?

  2. Lindsay Says:

    Here are a few of my favorite movie soundtracks:

    1) Swing Kids (fun WW2 era music, especially for swinging!)

    2) Great Expectations (the movie with Gwyneth Paltrow & Ethan Hawke)

    3) Annie

    4) Music from the OC: Mix 1 (not a movie soundtrack but a really good TV soundtrack)

  3. Margie Says:

    Sleepless in Seattle is still one of the best movie soundtracks of all time … just a lovely compilation. And Elizabethtown was a Cameron Crowe movie so of course it was good, his early days of writing for Rolling Stone make him one of the better directors at matching music to the movie on a regular basis.

    My all time favorite soundtracks tend to be instrumental, though … “The Mission” is still moving after all of these years, and then there are movies like “The Rocketeer” whose plots have been forgotten but have scores that live on as moview preview standards.

  4. James McD Says:

    I am very surprised to not see O Brother Where Art Thou? mentioned.

  5. Colleen Says:

    I loved the Garden State and Elizabethtown soundtracks, too (people give Elizabethtown in general a hard time, but I really liked it. And I’m not even a big fan of that type of movie). I also like the Juno soundtrack, and Almost Famous.


Leave a Reply

