Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

What American Accent Do You Have? June 15, 2007

Filed under: Language — Emily @ 3:36 pm

If you’re interested in the varying regional dialects of American English, and the differences in how we pronounce certain words, you should check out these quizzes:

When I took the first quiz, it told me I have a Southern accent, which makes sense since I live in the South. However, I like to think that my “twang” isn’t as pronounced as it is with some Southerners. Not that there’s anything wrong with that… 🙂 When I took the quiz a second time (a few hours later), the result changed to Midland. Perhaps I have a blend of the two accents. Sounds about right.

The second quiz gives more interesting results by breaking down what percentage of different dialects/accents you represent, rather than just giving you one answer. Here are my percentages:

60% General American English

35% Dixie

0% Midwestern

0% Upper Midwestern

0% Yankee

After you take the quiz or quizzes, leave a comment here about your results. It would be interesting to see how many accents would be represented.

 

27 Responses to “What American Accent Do You Have?”

  1. Leah Says:

    I got “Midland”

  2. Lindsay Says:

    I got midland. And will my 2nd set of results show here? I don’t know.

    65% General American English

    25% Dixie

    5% Yankee

    0% Midwestern

    0% Upper Midwestern

  3. Natalee Says:

    I got midland… and my other results?
    55% General American English

    25% Dixie

    15% Yankee

    0% Midwestern

    0% Upper Midwester

  4. Shelie Says:

    OK, so on the first one…..SURPRISE SURPRISE!!! SOUTHERN! But, on the second, 50% General American English, 35% Dixie, 5% Midwestern, 5% Upper Midwestern, 0% Yankee.

  5. Lisa Says:

    I got Midland on the first and here is the second:
    75% General American English
    10% Dixie
    10% Yankee
    0% Midwestern
    0% Upper Midwestern

    It’s interesting how the words I use have changed over time. I spent the first nearly 6 years of my life near Chicago, and both of my parents spent their whole life there. So when I first moved to Dallas, I never said “y’all,” but now use it often. I also only said “pop” for a carbonated beverage, but now mostly say “coke” or “soda”, sometimes I may still say “pop.” Thanks, that was fun!

  6. Chris Says:

    I got Midland for the first quiz. Here are the results from the second:

    50% General American English

    20% Yankee

    10% Upper Midwestern

    5% Dixie

    5% Midwestern

  7. Chris Says:

    Oh…maybe I’m missing something here (wouldn’t be the first or last time) but isn’t that only 90% of my speech? I’m no math wizard but…

  8. Emily Says:

    Thanks to everyone who has responded so far. Chris, thanks for voicing the mystery about how apparently we all only have about 90-95% language capacity. I guess the other 5-10% is to account for the times when no one knows what we’re talking about, or when we mispronounce words? I don’t know.

  9. Leah Says:

    65% General American English

    20% Dixie

    10% Yankee

    0% Midwestern

    0% Upper Midwestern

  10. Mandy Says:

    I got Midland too.

    Mandy

  11. Mandy Says:

    50% General American English

    35% Dixie

    10% Yankee

    0% Midwestern

    0% Upper Midwestern

  12. Brad Says:

    On the first quiz I got Midland.
    Here are my results from the second quiz:
    75% General American English
    10% Dixie
    10% Yankee
    0% Midwestern
    0% Upper Midwestern

  13. Lindsi Hanchey Says:

    I had a “Southern Accent” (surprise, surprise) on the first quiz and then my results for the second one were:

    45% General American English

    35% Dixie

    5% Midwestern

    5% Upper Midwestern

    5% Yankee

    Thanks Em! That was fun!

  14. Jessica Says:

    I got Midland also for the first one, and the second one:

    Your Linguistic Profile:

    55% General American English

    15% Dixie

    15% Yankee

    10% Upper Midwestern

    0% Midwestern

    What Kind of American English Do You Speak?
    Lets see if copy and paste worked! 🙂

  15. susan scott Says:

    Well, it seems I have a little of each region in my speech.
    65% General American English
    15% Dixie
    5% Midwestern
    5% Upper Midwestern
    5% Yankee

    Strange.

  16. susan scott Says:

    On the first quiz I got midland.

  17. Veronica Says:

    #1: Midland

    #2:
    60% General American English

    20% Dixie

    10% Yankee

    5% Upper Midwestern

    0% Midwestern

  18. John Says:

    #1 Midland

    #2
    60% General American English

    15% Dixie

    10% Yankee

    5% British

  19. James McD Says:

    On the first I got southern on the second I came out as…

    60% General American English

    25% Dixie

    10% Yankee

    0% Midwestern

    0% Upper Midwestern

  20. Cara Says:

    I got Midland for the first quiz.
    For the second:
    Your Linguistic Profile:
    60% General American English

    35% Dixie

    0% Midwestern

    0% Upper Midwestern

    0% YankeeWhat Kind of American English Do You Speak?

  21. Eric Says:

    On the first quiz, I got North Central, perhaps a bit odd since I live near Detroit (Northern accent).

    On the second quiz, I got:

    65% General American English
    10% Dixie
    10% Yankee
    5% Midwestern
    5% Upper Midwestern

    A bit shocked that I only got 5% Midwestern.

  22. Dough Says:

    Your Linguistic Profile:

    40% General American English

    25% Dixie

    20% Yankee

    5% Midwestern

    5% Upper Midwestern

    What Kind of American English Do You Speak?

  23. David Chesler Says:

    Has anyone published the source to their quiz? The differential tree?
    The quizzes generally peg me correctly (I was brought up in the Bronx by NY-born parents who did their best to “Think Yiddish, speak British”, went to school outside Boston 30 years ago, and stayed — I can pull off Classical Music Announcer, and if I avoid saying “cawffee”, “dawg”, “tawk”, “dyance”, and “wuddar” people are surprised when they learn where I’m from) and I want to know what is giving it away? Where do they say merry, marry, and Mary all the same, etc.?

  24. Emily Says:

    David,
    I would also be interested in seeing the differential tree, as you call it. I can tell you that I say merry, marry, and Mary all the same, so I guess that’s a Southern thing.

  25. Mohammed Mohammedhadith Says:

    On my first one I got Western and I am in LA And I did not take the second one yet…

  26. Eric Says:

    I was raised in ,both, French and English, from Quebec… did it, for the fun of it.

    #1 Northeasterner

    #2 50% General American English

    35% Yankee

    10% Dixie

    5% Upper Midwestern

    0% Midwestern

  27. Dixie McAlister Says:

    My NAME is Dixie. It’s cool.


Leave a Reply

