Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

Now Playing on a TiVo Near… Me June 22, 2007

Filed under: Television,Tivo — Emily @ 8:21 am

You can tell a lot about a person by the car he or she drives, the clothes and shoes he or she wears, the hobbies he or she chooses… There are many sayings similar to these that suggest much can be read into someone’s personality or character by examining the things that are important to him or her. With the rising popularity of the DVR, and the adoration that DVR owners have for them (just google the phrase “I love my tivo” and you’ll see what I mean), I’d like to add another wise saying to the pile: You can tell a lot about a person by what is on his or her TiVo Now Playing list.

I present for your analysis, the five most recently recorded items on my Now Playing list, as well as the five oldest items (the bottom of the barrel, so to speak). I think this is an especially interesting undertaking during the summer, since from June to September the television landscape borders on a wasteland of “funniest pets and people specials” and appalling dating shows. Viewers must look beneath the surface and sift through the reality garbage to give their TiVo something worthwhile to record, so it won’t feel neglected (or insulted).

Most Recent Items on My Now Playing List

  1. So You Think You Can Dance (Recorded Wednesday, June 20 on Fox) – I have already watched this episode of my favorite summer diversion – check out my enthusiasm for it by clicking on the So You Think You Can Dance category on the right-side of this page – but I am holding on to it in case I decide to watch some of my favorite performances again. This is a recurring habit for me – holding on to a show I’ve already watched “just in case.” I will probably delete it once next week’s episode has aired, because then I will have a new batch of “just in case” performances to garner my attention.
  2. Superman: The Movie (Recorded Saturday, June 16 on Ion) – Last summer, before I went to the theater to see Superman Returns, I searched the tv listings in hopes that I could record and watch at least one of the previous Superman movies, to remind myself what I liked about them. Unfortunately, none of them were airing at the time. Fortunately, it didn’t matter because Superman Returns was so lackluster that watching one of the “classic” movies in the series would have only made the new one seem much worse. Now, a year later, I am ready to sit down with a bowl of popcorn and a Coke to watch the movie that started it all. I am sure that when I watch it, I will be flooded with memories from childhood of watching Superman and Lois Lane fly around Metropolis, Lex Luthor sneak around in his subterranean lair, and Clark Kent bumble around the Daily Planet. Should be fun!
  3. Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Season 3 episode “Amends” recorded Wednesday, June 13 on FX) – I recently rewatched this entire series on FX. For some reason FX skipped a handful of episodes during this time period. “Amends” was one of them, and I was especially interested in watching it because it introduced something called The First Evil that later played a pivotal role in the final season. This time around I made sure to record it. By the way, Buffy is one of my all-time favorite shows, so it’s really no surprise to find an episode of it lingering on my TiVo. To see my top ten favorite episodes of the series, click here.
  4. Fan’s Guide: Walt Disney World (recorded Tuesday, June 12 on the Travel Channel) – So I am kind of obsessed with Disney World. My huband and I went there last December to celebrate our wedding anniversary (that was our excuse for going, anyway), and we had a fantastic time. Ever since, I have wanted to go back so badly that I had to create a Wishlist item on my TiVo to record anything Disney-related to whet my appetite. This Fan Guide episode is the latest Disney show to air, and apparently it shows “how to make the most of a Disney vacation.” If you think Disney World is just for kids, think again, and consider going there on your next trip. Oh, and stay at the Wilderness Lodge!
  5. Batman Returns (recorded Saturday, June 9 on TCM) – In addition to my Disney World obsession, I am kind of in love with Christian Bale (ever since Newsies). Seeing him in Batman Begins (he’s the best Batman ever!) renewed my interest in the previous installments of the Batman movies. I watched the 1989 Batman about a year ago, and now I have finally gotten around to recording this one. I should also note that I am a collector of penguin-related items, anything from stuffed animals to socks to jewelry (weird, I know). That gives me two reasons to watch this movie: 1) To see how Michael Keaton compares to Christian Bale as Batman, and 2) To see Danny DeVito’s campy (and kind of gross) portrayal of The Penguin.

Oldest Items on My Now Playing List – I should comment here that for something to be at the end of my Now Playing list means that I either can’t bear the thought of deleting it, or that I’ve never been in the mood to watch it. The items from below are listed from very last to 4th from last.

  1. Arrested Development (the final four episodes of the series, which aired back to back to back to back on Friday, February 10 2006 on Fox) – I loved this show! It’s also on my all-time favorite shows list. So how could I part with the final installments of it? I distinctly remember that these episodes were aired at the same time as the Opening Ceremonies of the 2006 Winter Olympics. How rude of Fox! I haven’t actually watched these episodes since they originally aired, but thanks to my TiVo, if I wanted to I could.
  2. Everwood (the final two episodes of the series, which aired on Monday, June 5 2006 on the WB) – This was another show that I absolutely loved (I’ve finally found a family drama replacement for it in Friday Night Lights), so of course I couldn’t delete the final two episodes! Just as Fox mistreated Arrested Development, the WB’s decision to air the Everwood finale in June, after the regular tv season was over, was one of its rudest as well as one of its final acts before becoming the silly CW Network. On a side note, now that the CW has cancelled Gilmore Girls and Veronica Mars, it’s not even on my radar anymore.
  3. Modern Marvels (An episode about coffee recorded January 1, 2007 on the History Channel) – I love coffee, so of course I am interested in a show that covers this beverage’s 1,000 year history, starting with its origins in Ethiopia. I guess, though, that I’ve been too busy drinking coffee to actually sit down and watch this one. Eventually I’ll get around to it.
  4. About a Boy (Recorded February 1, 2007 on USA) – This movie starring Hugh Grant and Toni Collette is one of my favorites. I had seen it before I tivo’d it, but wanted to watch it again sometime. I haven’t yet, but when I do I know I’ll enjoy it.
  5. Cinema Paradiso (Recorded February 4, 2007 on TCM) – I’ve never seen this award-winning movie from 1988, but was impressed by its 4-star rating. Also, I can relate to its general premise about a boy discovering the joy of movie-watching – I also take joy in savoring a good film. I have a feeling I will watch this one on a rainy night when I can settle down with a blanket and a hot cup of tea. Seems to fit.

So there you have it. What do you make of me now?

 

3 Responses to “Now Playing on a TiVo Near… Me”

  1. lindsay Says:

    Now I totally feel like I know you! Haha OK here are mine (but going off memory):
    Most recent:
    1) So You Think You Can Dance from last night. I also don’t like to delete, “just in case.”
    2)The Starter Wife. I set a season pass for this but I didn’t really love it and never cancelled it.
    3)The Office – The episodes that were on last night. I don’t even know what they are!
    Oldest:
    1) Crash – I bought it on pay-per-view. I have watched it twice and have had it since 10/05!
    2) Buffy – Once More, With Feeling! My fave all-time ep. Sometimes I play it while I clean my house and sing along. Yeah that is only slightly embarrassing.
    3) Garden State – I recorded this a couple of months ago. Besides Crash & Buffy my tivo cleaned itself completely off a few months ago, so this is one I have saved since then. I enjoy this one and didn’t want to delete. I guess I keep thinking I will get a DVD recorder or something.

  2. Donna Says:

    I love my Tivo if I could marry it I would! Now if my husband wants my attention I can put it on pause and not miss my shows.
    Men! When they talk they want you to hang on every word, why is that? Does he not know Rescue me is on???

    I too tape the Disney shows, going in September 07, can’t wait!

    ~Donna

  3. Emily Says:

    Lindsay, I don’t know what I would do if my tivo decided to get rid of everything I had recorded! At least yours kept a few things. Your tivo has good taste since it decided to keep the Buffy musical episode.
    Donna,
    I agree that the ability to pause “live tv” is one of the greatest inventions of the modern age. I’m excited for you that you are going to Disney World in a couple of months! Stay tuned to my blog for some soon-to-come Disney tips (which will mostly consist of me showering the whole Disney experience with lavish praise).


Leave a Reply

