Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

American Idol Gets “Carey”d Away April 16, 2008

Filed under: American Idol — Emily @ 8:45 am

Who knew that the guys would fare so well on Mariah Carey-theme night? Here are my thoughts on the seven performances:

  • David Archuleta – “When You Believe” – As much as I love the animated movie Prince Of Egypt, as well as this and all the other songs from it, I was bored. I stand by my opinion that David A. is not pop star material – at least not yet. I’m not sure he would ever be. He needs to finish high school and then head for Broadway, where he can wow audiences with his soaring, controlled voice. But my opinion must not be shared by much of America, as he always seems to be safe from the Bottom 3.
  • Carly Smithson – “Without You” – For the first time in a few weeks, I thought Carly looked really good: her hair, her makeup, her dress. However, her vocals were not as strong as they have been in previous weeks. I think she was responding to the judges’ comments that she seems angry when she performs, by toning it down. Since her strong voice is my favorite thing about her, this was not one of my faves from her.
  • Syesha Mercado – “Vanishing” – I had forgotten about this lesser known Mariah song from her first album, which I used to listen to on my purple “jam box” way back in the early 1990s (great album – I had forgotten!). I thought Syesha did a great job with it. Her personality was more apparent than in previous weeks, her voice was very controlled and confident, she looked great, and I would have to say this is my favorite performance from her of the season.
  • Brooke White – “Hero” – What happened? The song started well, but then she got all trembly and pitchy. Plus, this song is one of Mariah’s more bland ones. Brooke needs to step it up, or soon she’ll be steppin’ out.
  • Kristy Lee Cook – “Forever” – She is still at the bottom of the list for me, and I don’t like country music, but I can’t deny that she has done well the past couple of weeks, and that this could legitimately be a country hit. Looks like she may have dodged a bullet once again.
  • David Cook – “Always Be My Baby” – I always enjoy David’s rock twist on other genres, but his vocals this time were kind of weak. I still enjoyed it, but not as much as some of his others. But I agree with Simon that David is a risk taker, and he’s creative – more than any other contestant. That’s a trait that will serve him well as an artist.
  • Jason Castro – “I Don’t Want to Cry” – Another Mariah song that I love! I really liked the first half of Jason’s version, but I thought the arrangement lacked gusto toward the end. Hopefully Jason will earn enough votes to stay, especially since he was the final performer.

My Favorite Performances: Syesha, Jason

Predicting the Bottom Three: Carly, Brooke, Syesha

Out of those three, I am sad to say that I think Carly will be going home. She has a great voice, but she has never connected as well with the audience as some of the others have.

 

One Response to “American Idol Gets “Carey”d Away”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    It seems that, in my effort to support David Cook, I voted several times for Jason Castro. I got their call in numbers mixed up. Oops!! But I don’t think Jason is in any danger of going home this week. I thought the judges might have been a little hard on his performance this week.


Leave a Reply

