Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

SYTYCD: Auditions in D.C. May 31, 2008

Filed under: So You Think You Can Dance,Television — Emily @ 9:53 am

Notice how I am skipping over the Charleston auditions? I didn’t love any of the contestants from that hour on Thursday night. And there were only a few who wowed me in D.C. Here are my thoughts:

  • Megan Campbell – This girl had an energy and enthusiasm in her dancing that was contagious. Like Dan said, she “left everything out on the floor.” I hope she continues to do well, because she is fun to watch. And it’s always nice to see family supporting these dancers, so I appreciated them showing her aunt cheering her on.
  • Markus Shields – Sometimes it feels like people are looking for sympathy votes when they bring up the death of a loved one, but in this case Markus seemed sincere in his desire to dedicate his audition to his mom. Plus, his dancing spoke for itself, whether or not he had mentioned losing his mom. I loved his choreography, as well as his smooth presentation of it.
  • Brandon Bryant – Wow! How about the leg muscles on this guy? I really liked him. He had an intensity about him that I haven’t seen in many of the dancers this season, equally matched by his physical strength. He did some amazing acrobatic moves, but also showed off his experience in ballet and modern dance. Obviously the judges loved him, too, so I wouldn’t be surprised if he makes it to the Top 20. As great as he was, did anyone else feel like they were watching a Mr. Universe competition for the first half of his performance?

So, that’s it. I’m glad there is only one week of the audition rounds, since I am tired of sitting through performances by so many attention seekers and wannabes. (I had to fast forward through Dancing Derek.) Also hard to watch was prima donna Anthony. Yes, he may be a fantastic dancer, but he needs a serious attitude adjustment. He would be impossible to partner with, which is probably why the judges said “no” to him after the choreography auditions.

 

4 Responses to “SYTYCD: Auditions in D.C.”

  1. Aurora Says:

    I totally agree with your comments on the episode. I loved that Megan girl. I love watching So You Think You Can Dance! Do you remember Neil Haskell? I just saw him the other day in an Off-Broadway show called Altar Boyz! It was SO funny! And he was so great! I didn’t know he could act and sing too! I know I’ll be going again, and I’d recommend this show to everyone. I was laughing all night long!

  2. Emily Says:

    Aurora,
    Of course I remember Neil! He wasn’t one of my favorites from last season, but I am glad to hear that he is having success in theater. I hope that we’ll see him and some of the others from last season this year on the show.

  3. sereena Says:

    what was the name of the song that brandon auditioned to? he was great

  4. Emily Says:

    Sereena,
    I’m not sure what the song Brandon danced to was. I’ve tried to find a website that tracked down audition song titles but haven’t found one. Let me know if you find one.


Leave a Reply

