Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

So You Think You Can Dance: The Top 20 Perform June 11, 2008

Filed under: So You Think You Can Dance,Television — Emily @ 10:15 pm

Welcome to the first edition of my performance reviews for Season 4 of SYTYCD! Tonight we had a chance to get to know the contestants a little better, to see who they have been paired up with, and what kind of chemistry these new couples have. For each couple, I’ve indicated what kind of dance they did, to what song, what I thought of the performance, and what the judges thought of it. Here we go…

1. Rayven and Jamie – Hip Hop with Napoleon and Tabitha choreographing. “American Boy” by Estelle featuring Kanye West. What was with pulling his jeans down? That was very distracting. The routine was a little too chipper for me, with all the over the top facial expressions. In fact, it reminded me of a couple from last year – Neil and Lauren.

  • Nigel: He likes how hip hop is softening up, but he worries that the routine won’t be memorable by the end of the night.
  • Mary: “Rayven, I don’t care how old you are. You are a beautiful strong dancing machine.” She thought this “cotton candy hip hop” was the right kind of routine for Jamie.
  • Dan: “It wasn’t quite there.” “There was no funk at all.” I agree with him.

2. Susie and Marquis – the smooth waltz, “Dark Waltz” by Hayley Westenra, nice song, jerky movements, he was more graceful than she was. I’m not buying their chemistry as a couple. I was afraid he was going to drop her a few times in the final sequences. Yikes! Did he not have the strength for those lifts?

  • Nigel: He said Marquis’ carriage was marvelous, and Susie’s lines were absolutely beautiful. “Well done, tough routine.”
  • Mary: “You guys pulled it off. You did a great job.”
  • Dan: “I felt like I was watching an almost perfect ending to a love story.”

3. Kourtni L. and Matt – Jazz routine with Mandy Moore (yay!) “Tainted Love” by Soft Cell. Love the song, loved the tone and attitude of the routine, but wasn’t sure about the diamond business at the end.

  • Nigel: “Matt, I need more personality from you.” “Kourtni, you are unique… You’ve got a unique face, and you use it well.”
  • Mary: “I thought you did a great job.” She thought the lift was the only heavy part.
  • Dan: “Great choreography, great dancers, great concept, so so performance.”

4. Chelsea T. and Thayne – the cha cha, choreography by Tony Meredith and Melanie, “Oye Como Va” by Celia Cruz, They’re a sexy, fun pair, and very captivating to watch!

  • Nigel: “I love that Southern attitude.” “Thayne, how can you contain this creature next to you? And yet, you did!”
  • Mary: “You two get two tickets on the hot tamale train!”
  • Dan: “Thayne, you were really secondary for me, but I guess you did your job.”

5. Chelsie H. and Mark – Contemporary piece choreography by Mia Michaels “What would Tim Burton’s wedding be like?” This should be a good fit for Mark, since he describes himself as “a little left of center.” “Beautiful” by Me’Shell Ndegeocello. This wasn’t my favorite Mia Michaels routine, but it was definitely interesting, if spastic at times. I did like how Chelsie curled up in a ball in Mark’s arms at the end.

  • Nigel: “Mia Michaels, you have some weird relationships, don’t you darling?” He liked how Mia took what Mark does and made it hers. “You both danced it brilliantly.”
  • Mary: “Mark, you are one wild and crazy and unique dude to this competition.” “Chelsie Hightower, holy smokes girl.”
  • Dan: “You tweaked and you freaked, and you did everything that was asked of you.”

6. Kherington and Twitch – Tyce Diorio Broadway routine. “Too Darn Hot” from Kiss Me Kate. Kherington has the contagious smile and my eyes were drawn to her, whereas it was hard for me to believe Twitch dancing Broadway.

  • Nigel: “Very, very hot.” “Kherington, that whole spirit thing you have came out in your dancing.” “Twitch, you looked like a Broadway dancer there.”
  • Mary: “The sprinkler system is gonna come on that was so darn hot!”
  • Dan: “Kherington, you’re hitting on all cylinders up there.” “Twitch, you go ahead and take Broadway by storm, because I’d love to watch you up there any day.”

7. Comfort and Chris – the jive with Tony and Melanie, “Boom Boom” by Big Head Todd and the Monsters. I liked their outfits, and it was fun, but there did seem to be some bumpy moments in the routine.

  • Nigel: “You were smoldering there, girl.” He thought Chris’ personality came out. “No more trees.”
  • Mary: “This girl has what it takes for sure.” “For the first time out, both of you, great personality… respectable job.”
  • Dan: “Chris, I think you did a wonderful job up there, keeping up with her.” He thinks they need to find a chemistry with each other. I agree with him.

8. Katee and Joshua – Hip hop routine by Napoleon and Tabitha, “the night before he goes off for war” is the theme, “No AIr” by Jordin Sparks and Chris Brown. I love Joshua’s passion, and it rubbed off on Katee. They had good emotion and chemistry. It was great!

  • Nigel: “That was really, really good.” “You make a great couple… you really pleased the audience tonight, as well as me.”
  • Mary: “I didn’t expect this… you brought it back a few levels, but you hit every little nuance… It was tremendous.”
  • Dan: “You guys killed that.” (dancing in unison) “Katee, you held your own up there.” I agree with him again! I expected Joshua to outshine her, but she kept up.

9. Jessica and Will – a tango choreographed by Hunter Johnson, “Tango” by Cirque du Soleil. They looked a little shaky at times (that was mainly Jessica, according to the judges). My favorite part was when he dragged her across the floor at the beginning.

  • Nigel: “Will, you are majestic up there.” “Jessica, a few wobbles here and there. The heels don’t help, do they?”
  • Mary: “There’s just one way I like my tango to be danced… and that was it.” She thought Will owned his role as the man. “You’re the couple to beat right now.” Really?
  • Dan: “You were hot like fire up there.”

10. Courtney G. and Gev – Disco routine, “Boogie Wonderland” by Earth, Wind, and Fire. I didn’t like Courtney’s yellow dress and the yellow shirt under Gev’s silver vest. I’m just not a fan of disco. This was kind of boring to me until Gev busted some floor moves toward the end.

  • Nigel: “I love disco… Did I love that? No.” He didn’t get the “get down” feel to it. I agree.
  • Mary: She liked Courtney, thought she owned it a little more than Gev.
  • Dan: He enjoyed it, but didn’t think it was as good as it could have been.

My Favorites:

  1. Chelsea and Thayne’s cha cha
  2. Katee and Joshua’s hip hop
  3. Kourtni and Matt’s jazz routine

My Least Favorites:

  • Courtney and Gev’s disco
  • Rayven and Jamie’s hip hop
  • Jessica and Will’s tango

It was hard to read the judges tonight. They basically said that everyone was fantastic. I figure that the earlier dancers will be in danger of being in the bottom three. My best guess is that Rayven or Jamie might be going home, but who knows? We’ll find out soon.

Related Post:

 

2 Responses to “So You Think You Can Dance: The Top 20 Perform”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    Yay! You’re back. 🙂 I agree with your top 2 choices–LOVED the cha cha, and the hip hop was incredibly moving–but I couldn’t pick a third. I didn’t think any of the other dancers did very well. I disagree with you about Twitch, though, I thought he did pretty well as a Broadway dancer. Agree with you about the judges, at least Nigel and Mary. How will the dancers learn if they don’t get any critique? I was thankful for Dan for keeping it real.

  2. Leah Says:

    I thought there weren’t any bad performances last night (which was very unusual). My favorite was Joshua and Katee’s routine. I think Chelsie and Mark are in trouble because Mark reminds me of the weirdo guy who went home first last season.


Leave a Reply

