Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

So You Think You Can Dance: So Long, Rayven and Jamie June 12, 2008

Filed under: So You Think You Can Dance,Television — Emily @ 10:29 pm

Well, tonight’s elimination show went about the way I expected it to, except that I was surprised to see Kourtni and Matt in the bottom three couples. It seems that the cards were stacked against Rayven and Jamie, since we hardly saw them at all before their performance this week. Then again, I didn’t know anything about Chelsea T. before this week, and she and Thayne are my favorite couple of the moment. So, they can’t really blame the way the show is edited.

The bottom three couples: Rayven and Jamie, Kourtni and Matt, Jessica and Will

Their solos:

  • Rayven – I thought it was “ok” but not outstanding
  • Jamie – I thought his solo was pretty cheesy. No – I thought it was super cheesy. Anyone who has read many of my SYTYCD posts knows that I am no fan of over the top silliness, so I wasn’t impressed with this solo.
  • Matt – I still think he is a beautiful dancer to watch, because of his movements and his technique. This solo only reinforced my opinion of him.
  • Kourtni – There wasn’t anything special about her solo, yet I enjoyed watching it. There is something unique about her, especially compared to the other girls in the Top 20.
  • Jessica – Her solo also left me unimpressed, but I look forward to seeing why the judges chose her for the Top 20.
  • William – He was by far the best soloist of the night. It was creative, interesting, and organic. I look forward to seeing much more from him! (But I do hate to hear Nigel peg him as Final Four material so early in the competition. Let the viewers form their own opinions, you know?)

I was disappointed by the opening dance routine choreographed by Wade Robson. I usually enjoy his work much, much more. Having Nigel “abducted” from his place at the judges’ table was very gimmicky. And the camera work during the routine was just awkward. It looked like someone was messing up. I guess that was the point, but I didn’t like it.

Why are the Pussycat Dolls still around? I had to skip through their performance as fast as I could.

Can’t wait for more dancing next week!

Related Post:

 

One Response to “So You Think You Can Dance: So Long, Rayven and Jamie”

  1. Leah Says:

    I thought that Jessica should have gone instead of Rayven. I mean, what was that solo supposed to be? She didn’t do anything! Not that I will miss Rayven – I just think the judges picked her over Jessica because they didn’t want to break up any couples this early in the competition.


Leave a Reply

