Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

2008 Emmy Nominations in Comedy: My Two Cents July 18, 2008

  • Last year I had the foresight to come up with my own Dream Emmy Ballot, but this year time got away from me. So, I’ll just hem and haw about the actual nominees.

COMEDY SERIES
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Entourage
The Office
30 Rock
Two and a Half Men

What I Like: Yay for 30 Rock and The Office. I think 30 Rock should win again. It is consistently the quirkiest, most randomly funny comedy, at least on network television. I can’t speak for Entourage and Curb Your Enthusiasm since I don’t subscribe to (so-called) premium channels.

What I Don’t Like: I’m tired of Two and a Half Men’s perpetual presence in this category. I’ve forced myself to sit through the show, and it’s humor is tired and predictable. It’s like Perfect Strangers for the 21st century. Just as silly, but way more sexual humor. I’d rather have seen How I Met Your Mother here, but it had a so-so season.

ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES
Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock
Steve Carell, The Office
Lee Pace, Pushing Daisies
Tony Shalhoub, Monk
Charlie Sheen, Two and a Half Men

What I Like: I loved Lee Pace on Pushing Daisies. What a refreshing show, character, and actor. The humor is much more subtle, though, than it is with the other nominees, so I doubt he will win. But it’s at least nice for this little gem of a show to get recognized. Steve Carell and Alex Baldwin are both great at what they do on their shows.

What I Don’t Like: Repeat nominations for Charlie Sheen and Tony Shalhoub (I didn’t even know Monk was still on!)

ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES
Christina Applegate, Samantha Who?
America Ferrera, Ugly Betty
Tina Fey, 30 Rock
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, The New Adventures of Old Christine
Mary-Louise Parker, Weeds

What I Like: This is a very strong category. I don’t really have any complaints. I’ll be cheering for Tina Fey. She is so hilarious as Liz Lemon.

SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES
Jon Cryer, Two and a Half Men
Kevin Dillon, Entourage
Neil Patrick Harris, How I Met Your Mother
Jeremy Piven, Entourage
Rainn Wilson, The Office

What I Like: Neil Patrick Harris receiving another nomination. He should totally win this year! Stop giving this award to Jeremy Piven!

What I Don’t Like: Rainn Wilson’s nomination. He isn’t near to being the funniest supporting player on The Office. He’s mostly annoying.

SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES
Kristin Chenoweth, Pushing Daisies
Amy Poehler, Saturday Night Live
Jean Smart, Samantha Who?
Holland Taylor, Two and a Half Men
Vanessa Williams, Ugly Betty

What I Like: Another strong category. Women must be taking over television, with all the talent on this list. I don’t think I’ve ever seen someone nominated for an Emmy for their work on SNL, as Amy Poehler is here. She is very deserving, though.

GUEST ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES
Will Arnett, 30 Rock
Shelley Berman, Curb Your Enthusiasm
Steve Buscemi, 30 Rock
Tim Conway, 30 Rock
Rip Torn, 30 Rock

What I Like: The recognition of how brilliant the guest stars on 30 Rock are. Will Arnett should win this hands down.

GUEST ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES
Polly Bergen, Desperate Housewives
Edie Falco, 30 Rock
Carrie Fisher, 30 Rock
Kathryn Joosten, Desperate Housewives
Sarah Silverman, Monk
Elaine Stritch, 30 Rock

What I Like: More 30 Rock love! Edie Falco was perfect in her role, so my vote is for her.

So there was a lot to like in the Emmy Nominations in Comedy. What about in Drama? I’ll take that topic on next.

 

Leave a Reply

