Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

2008 Emmy Nominations in Drama: My Two Cents July 19, 2008

Filed under: Emmy Awards,Lost,Television — Emily @ 12:19 pm

Overall, I must say that I am pleased with all of this year’s Emmy nominations. As always, I have a few complaints, but they recognized many of the right people and shows this year.

DRAMA SERIES
Boston Legal
Damages
Dexter
House
Lost
Mad Men

  • Lost had a great resurgence this year, so it totally deserves this nomination. House remains a consistently strong and inventive medical drama – much better than Grey’s Anatomy at this point, so I’m glad it made the cut over that show, which lost me at the beginning of this season when Izzie tried to save the deer that had been injured. I was intrigued by the darkly humorous Dexter in its first season, and can’t wait to watch the second season when it is released on DVD in a couple of months. I assume its second season is equally deserving as the first was to be nominated. And although I’ve never watched Damages or Mad Men, I’ve heard only good things about them.
  • That leaves us with Boston Legal, the old standby in this category. Same old story, and I have the same old complaints as last year. I won’t get into it again, but here’s an excerpt from my 2007 Emmy reaction post: “Boston Legal – Am I out of the loop? I just don’t get it. What is the big deal about this show? I can never stand to watch more than a few minutes of it. The characters are caricatures, the show relies too heavily on guest stars… Can someone please explain to me why the Emmy voters are so fascinated by this legal comedy?”

ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES
Gabriel Byrne, In Treatment
Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad
Michael C. Hall, Dexter
Jon Hamm, Mad Men
Hugh Laurie, House
James Spader, Boston Legal

  • I think Michael C. Hall is brilliant in Dexter. He plays the haunted serial killer in a way that makes us sympathize with him, and even cheer him on. Although House is a character that makes me cringe, he is so selfish and manipulative, you can only applaud Hugh Laurie for playing the role with such gusto. It’s strange to see Bryan Cranston in this category, since I only know him from Malcolm in the Middle (a show that outstayed its welcome).
  • Again, my only complaint it with Boston Legal. James Spader? Again? I’d much rather have seen someone from Friday Night Lights, Battlestar Galactica, or Lost.

ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES
Glenn Close, Damages
Sally Field, Brothers & Sisters
Mariska Hargitay, Law & Order: Special Victims Unit
Holly Hunter, Saving Grace
Kyra Sedgwick, The Closer

  • This category looks like more of the same as last year, aside from Holly Hunter and Glenn Close’s characters. I don’t watch any of these shows, so I will hold on to my dream world in which the amazing Mary McDonnell would win this category for her powerful portrayal of Laura Roslin on Battlestar Galactica. She’s just so good!

SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES
Ted Danson, Damages
Michael Emerson, Lost
Zeljko Ivanek, Damages
William Shatner, Boston Legal
John Slattery, Mad Men

  • If Michael Emerson doesn’t win, it’s a tragedy. He is so good at being manipulative, slightly evil, never trustworthy, but strangely likable as Benjamin Linus on Lost. If William Shatner wins this drama category for his goofy, campy role on Boston Legal, I will be angry. As always, Battlestar Galactica’s great actors were overlooked – most notably Michael Hogan as Tigh.

SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES
Candice Bergen, Boston Legal
Rachel Griffiths, Brothers & Sisters
Sandra Oh, Grey’s Anatomy
Dianne Wiest, In Treatment
Chandra Wilson, Grey’s Anatomy

  • I’d like to see Chandra Wilson or Rachel Griffiths win this category. Other than that I have no opinion, other than that I shake my head at Boston Legal being represented in every major acting category.

I skipped talking about the guest stars on drama series, as well as the reality categories because I don’t really care about them. I may watch the Emmys to see if Lost or Dexter can pull out a win. I doubt it, so I probably shouldn’t waste my time.

Related Post:

 

One Response to “2008 Emmy Nominations in Drama: My Two Cents”

  1. izikavazo Says:

    The reason why Boston Legal is always nominated is because of the subject matter. Watch this closing ( http://www.crooksandliars.com/2007/05/11/boston-legals-alan-shore-on-gitmo/ ) by Alan Shore (James Spader) and tell me he doesn’t deserve an Emmy (or four).


Leave a Reply

