Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

90s Cinema: So I Married an Axe Murderer July 27, 2008

Filed under: Movies — Emily @ 12:13 pm
Tags: , ,

Last night I watched one of my favorite comedies from the early 90s: So I Married an Axe Murderer. I have probably seen this movie a dozen times, and it never gets old. It stars Mike Myers as a Beatnik-type poet, Nancy Travis as the “bellicose butcher” that he falls in love with, Amanda Plummer as her eccentric sister, and Anthony LaPaglia as his San Francisco detective friend.

Here are some things that I love about the movie:

  • The soundtrack – This may be the last album on cassette tape that I purchased before moving on to CDs. I actually still have it! It features some great songs, including Toad the Wet Sprocket’s “Brother” and “There She Goes” by the Boo Radleys.
  • Mike Myers as Charlie’s Scottish father – Myers’ is no stranger to playing dual roles, but this may be the first time that he did so. He was hilarious as this loud, obnoxious, loyally Scottish, kilt-wearing father.
  • The Sputnik scene – The classic, quotable scene from this movie involves Charlie’s younger brother, known only as “Heed,” blocking the television screen with his large noggin. Their father starts spouting off jokes about how big his head is, and it is hilarious. (It’s like an orange on a toothpick, it’s a virtual planetoid, it has its own weather system, it’s like Sputnik, etc.)
  • The Wo-Man Poem – Another quotable part of the movie is Mike Myers’ poetry, which he first performs in a coffee house and then serenades Harriet with. It has some of the best alliteration that I can remember ever hearing: “Harriet. Har-ri-et. Hard-hearted harbinger of haggis. Beautiful. Bemused, Bellicose. Butcher.”
  • Phil Hartman as “Vicky” the Alcatraz Guide – It makes me sad now to see Phil Hartman, knowing about his tragic death. But he was hilarious in this cameo, telling inappropriately disturbing stories to his group of tourists, all with a straight face.
  • The San Francisco setting – I love the city of San Francisco, and there’s plenty of it to see here, from the Golden Gate bridge, to the Palace of Fine Arts, to the North Beach area.
  • The Plot – Unlike some comedies, this one actually has a plot that makes sense. Charlie has a fear of commitment, so he always comes up with an excuse to break up with his girlfriends. One was a clepto. Another smelled like vegetable beef soup. After his mother tells him about a serial killer who murders her new husband on their honeymoon, he starts to believe that his latest girlfriend is this Mrs. X. Mike Myers plays awkwardness and paranoia very well, and Nancy Travis is equally good at being aloof and shifty. As the story unfolds, there’s plenty to keep you guessing and laughing.

Do you love this movie as much as I do? What are some of your favorite things about it?

 

One Response to “90s Cinema: So I Married an Axe Murderer”

  1. Stacey Says:

    I love this movie, too! Just watched it again about a month ago. I appreciate it for all the reasons you listed (mainly Myers’ portrayal of the dad, and just his comedy in general) but I really enjoyed the setting this time now that I’ve visited San Francisco myself.
    Also, I love the Wo-Man poem. It’s especially funny to me because my mom’s name is Harriet!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.