Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

So You Think You Can Dance: The Top 6 Perform July 30, 2008

We’re already down to the final six dancers? This season has flown by. Cat looks straight out of an Austin Powers movie in her shimmery silver go-go girl outfit. Tonight’s guest judge is Adam Shankman. Given that I am weary tonight and lack the concentration to record the judges’ exact comments to the contestants, I will give a general impression of their opinion, after making my own observations about each performance.

Courtney and Mark – Viennese Waltz (Jason Gilkison) – “The Time of My Life” by David Cook

Ouch. This isn’t good news for Courtney and Mark, since the Viennese Waltz isn’t normally a crowd pleaser. Let’s see how they do. Cheesy song choice, as much as I love David Cook, so that detracted from the routine. Wardrobe seems to be an important aspect of a waltz, and the wardrobe department got it right on this one. Courtney’s dress was simple, yet flowing and elegant. They seemed to do well. The judges were impressed – thought it was well choreographed and romantic.

Courtney and Mark – Jazz (Sonya Tayeh) – “The Garden” by Mirah

This routine is about “old French burlesque,” a battle of the sexes. This style suited Mark, by giving him plenty of opportunities to shake his hands, strike a pose, and basically just act weird. I liked it. But for me, Mark totally overshadowed Courtney. I agree with Cat that the music was great. The judges raved about how bizarre and unique Sonya’s choreography was, and how great Courtney and Mark were together in this routine.

Katee and Joshua – Contemporary (Tyce Diorio) – “All By Myself” by Celine Dion

This dance has a Romeo and Juliet vibe, a story of reunited lovers. They did a good job of playing the characters. I’m so glad to see them back together again, as were they and the audience. I get chills watching the leaps that they pull off. But everything in between was well done, too. It’s also amazing how well Joshua does with all the different styles of dance he is given. He and Katee are, in my opinion, the most versatile contestants left on the show. The judges thought it was beautiful and impressive, and they think these two are headed to the finale.

Katee and Joshua – Paso Doble (Jason Gilkison) – “Filet” from Le Reve soundtrack

I always enjoy this style of dance, which shows us the matador and his cape, which represents his aggression. I wasn’t crazy about the music, but as usual, Katee and Joshua were very fierce and entertaining. The judges were amazed by the routine. They think these two are magic together. I agree!

Chelsie and Twitch – The Mambo (Tony and Melanie) – “Ahora Mi Toca A Mi” by Victor Manuelle

I liked Chelsie’s fun little red dress, despite the wardrobe malfunction that sent bows flying across the stage. I thought she was great (how about those spins?!), but they didn’t have much chemistry together and Twitch didn’t seem fully invested. The judges thought Twitch was a pretty good partner and that Chelsie was on fire and in her element.

Chelsie and Twitch – Hip Hop (Tabitha and Napoleon) – “Control” by the Vitamin String Quartet

This is a humorous, playful routine about dueling conductors. And who thought we’d ever hear orchestral Janet Jackson on this show? Very random. Yet appropriate for this routine. I liked the first half better than the second half. The judges like the wit of T and N’s choreography. They are amazed at everything that Chelsie can do, and love Twitch in his hip hop element.

Solos

  • Chelsie – “When I Grow Up” by Pussycat Dolls – That Chelsie is a mover and a shaker for sure. Lots of energy, and quite an ending with the splits!
  • Twitch – “Midas Touch” by Midnight Star – Continuing his gimmicky performances, he was decked out in gold, to match his song, of course. No doubt he’s very talented, but I was actually more entertained by Cat putting on his glasses and gold teeth. Very cute.
  • Katee – “Can’t Stop” by Maroon 5 – She brought more of a spunky personality to this solo than her previous ones.
  • Joshua – “Like That” by Memphis Bleek – From his fast moves, to slow motion, to booty shakin’, to super high leaps, his solo seemed to have a little of everything. And it exuded energy and personality as well.
  • Courtney – “Rock Your Soul” by Elisa – I always like Courtney better in her solos than in her partner performances. No exception tonight.
  • Mark – “Bum Like You” by Robyn – As usual, I enjoyed his quirky, fun solo. Methinks it was right up the alley of many a teenage girl as well, which is one reason I think Mark will still be standing next week in the final four.

My Favorite: Katee and Joshua’s Contemporary

My Least Favorite: Chelsie and Twitch’s Mambo

Predicting Who Will Be Sent Home: Twitch and Courtney

I’m more sure about Courtney than Twitch. At this point it seems like all three guys are rather equally popular, so it’s a matter of how many votes their respective fans will cast. My fingers are crossed that Joshua makes it into the Final Four!

Related Post

 

4 Responses to “So You Think You Can Dance: The Top 6 Perform”

  1. Evilyn Says:

    Hey, thanks so much for publishing such a comprehensive site, i have been searching high and low for that song to which Mark and Courtney danced to, and u gave me that information,

    Muchos Gracias

  2. Leah Says:

    It seems like the judges have no desire to actualy critique anymore – they just compliment everyone. I thought that last routine was terrible. There was hardly any actual dancing in it, and it was just silly. Plus I can’t stand Chelsie. Never could. She makes me feel nothing when she dances, probably because she never expresses any sort of emotion. When Katee did that split leap and Joshua caught her, I gasped in amazement (just like the audience did) and yet there was no mention of it from the judges. Strange. I’m still upset over WIll going home. That was ridiculous. I want Chelsie and Twitch gone this week.

  3. Okke Says:

    Mary did mention the split leap and I thought it was terrific as well. Katee and Joshua are my favorites by far. It’s not just their dancing, it’s their personality and the way they give everything when they perform on stage. Katee I wasn’t sure about at the start but she really surprised me. I wasn’t surprised to see Will leave. He was definitely the best technical dancer. The things he did, especially when doing contemporary were insane. He did lack the personality though. Off stage he just didn’t stand out. Chelsie is a terrific danser but not mature enough yet for me (compared to for instance Anya from last season). Twitch is great too but while Joshua was able to handle a lot of different styles Twitch looked way out of place in quite a few routines. He just wasn’t comfortable. Courtney, while being very good, I never noticed until the last Jazz routine. I never cared for her at all for some reason. The fact that Jason Gilkison got to do some routines was terrific, he rocks when it comes to ballroom. Especially the paso doble stood out. I sure hope there will actually be great salsa/mambo routine sometime (the only decent ones were from season 2). While the salsa can be more street or latin everyone that dances the routines is hardly smooth at all. Often they pick rather slow songs (which sometimes the judges call fast, don’t know why) and even then the dancers aren’t smooth at all. I see salsa and mambo dansers all the time. Even in a social setting you’ll see lots of people dancing better than on the show. Those dances seem to be really hard to learn for people with other styles. Can’t wait to see the finale and just hope Katee or Joshua wins. Wish it could be both šŸ™‚

  4. […] So You Think You Can Dance: The Top 6 Perform We’re already down to the final six dancers? This season has flown by. Cat looks straight out of an Austin Powers […] […]


Leave a Reply

