Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

So You Think You Can Dance: The Final Four Revealed July 31, 2008

Filed under: So You Think You Can Dance,Television — Emily @ 10:18 pm

Tonight I learned that I like cheesy ’80s ballads better when they are paired with a dance, as Bette Midler’s “The Rose” nearly made me tear up while watching our Top Six dance beautifully to a Mandy Moore-choreographed routine.

Here are a few other observations from the blur of activity we were bombarded with during this bloated one hour results show:

  • Cat looked like she fell through a doorway of streamers on her way to the stage. Can you call what she was wearing a dress?
  • A small child named, if I heard correctly, Lil’ Demon, break danced his way around the stage for way too long (it was cute for about a minute…)
  • Lady GaGa arrived with her posse, fresh off a time machine from a 1980s music video. Seriously. What was with the leotard, the gaudy yellow shoes, and the shoulder pads? Maybe she thought they were doing a Toni Basil tribute, commemorating her short-lived early 80s music career?

Before the results were revealed, each of the remaining dancers danced a solo:

  • Courtney – “Almost Lover” by A Fine Frenzy – She looked like she forgot the choreography at the beginning, but I suppose it was just a slow-starting dance.
  • Mark – “Wind It Up” by Gwen Stefani – Fun with suspenders.
  • Katee – “Beautiful Disaster” by Jon McLaughlin – She did more lighting up of the stage.
  • Joshua – “I Can Make You Dance” by Zapp – His solo was the best of the night. Loved when he went down into splits, then halfway back up, then down again. He’s so good!
  • Chelsie – “The Girl’s Gone Wild” by Travis Tritt – Travis Tritt. Is he still making music? I wasn’t a fan of this boot-scootin’ solo.
  • Twitch – “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” by Bobby McFerrin – Seems like Twitch was sending a vibe of “I’m cool with whatever happens tonight.” Turns out he didn’t need to worry!

Safe – When I heard these two names called as being two of the finalists, I breathed a sigh of relief. As long as they are there next week, I don’t really care about the others

  • Katee
  • Joshua

In Danger

  • Mark and Twitch
  • Courtney and Chelsie

Surprise!

I really expected that out of that bottom four, Twitch and Courtney would be going home. Instead, their names were called as the remaining finalists! I thought that Mark had a bigger fan base than Twitch – same for Chelsie. Guess I was wrong. I have a lot of respect for Courtney. She has impressed me more and more each week. And Twitch has held his own in many different styles.

The Final Four

  • Katee
  • Joshua
  • Courtney
  • Twitch

Last year’s final four consisted of Sabra, Danny, Neil, and Lacey. I was hopeful that Sabra and Danny would be the final two, and I got my wish. From there I had hoped that Danny would win, but I was okay with Sabra winning. (By the way, where has Sabra been this season? Will she show up next week to congratulate the new champion?) This year, I won’t be disappointed with any of these four winning, but I will be cheering loudest for Joshua. I think that he or Katee are most deserving to win this year.

 

Leave a Reply

