Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

When There’s Nothing Else, Talk About the Weather August 14, 2008

Filed under: Memories — Emily @ 4:55 pm

I’m not quite sure what to do with my free time now that So You Think You Can Dance has ended. Other topics have crossed my mind, and I may get around to them eventually, but for now, I choose to talk about… the weather.

Why can’t a blog be like any conversation? When you can’t think of anything else to say, you can always talk about how great or lousy the weather is. Today I went to the Dallas Zoo, and although it wasn’t as hot as it has been (think 105 with a heat index of 110), it was still quite humid and toasty in the low 90s. The “awesome” thing about Dallas is that even when the temp drops 15 degrees from what it has been, you can still count on the humidity to kick in and give you a nice layer of sticky sweat.

So, imagine how ecstatic I was when I checked out the 10-day forecast and discovered that next Tuesday, they are predicting that the high will be 76 degrees! What? In August? The high will be 76? We don’t usually even hit that for a low this time of year, since it normally stay in the low 80s at night. The predicted low for that day is 71. I will believe it when I see it, but for now at least I have something to look forward to next week, other than the miserable heat.

I already have visions of picnics and walks at the nature preserve dancing in my head, as well as opening the windows at my house, sitting outside to read a book. If it’s really in the mid 70s, it will feel like a fall day! The one downside is that the reason it will be so cool is that it will probably be raining. I’ll take a cool rain any day over 100 degrees and hot, dry air.

That’s all I have to say. Does anyone reading this want to brag about the great weather they are having right now? What place in the U.S. is pleasant this time of year?

 

Leave a Reply

