Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

Thoughts on Last Week’s TV November 3, 2008

Filed under: Television — Emily @ 5:11 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I am falling behind in my tv viewing, and I have a few excuses: I’ve been entertaining family, I was out of town for the weekend, and I am adjusting to my baby’s newfound ability to crawl. All that being said, I have only watched a handful of shows from last week. Still on the list: The Office, Life on Mars, and My Own Worst Enemy. Here are my thoughts on what I did watch.

  • Heroes – The decision has been made, and this episode is what confirmed it. As of tonight, I will no longer be watching this show. First they killed off my favorite character (well, I should say my favorite actor on the show, David Anders). Then last week things got unnecessarily complicated and campy again. The glimmer of hope from a couple of weeks ago was short lived. Perhaps I will miss some bright spots for the rest of the season, but I will be content to hear about them from other people, rather than spending 45 minutes a week waiting for them to happen. The acting in last week’s episode seemed particularly exaggerated (most notably Milo Ventimiglia, Hayden Panettiere, and Dania Ramirez. I guess I’m just tired of laughing at things that aren’t intended to be funny.
  • How I Met Your Mother – This episode about Robin’s old flame coming to visit was a rerun, but I hadn’t seen it before. It was great to see James Van der Beek (good old Dawson) playing a loser Canadian rocker wannabe, and Robin’s embarrassing music video “Sandcastles in the Sand” instantly became a classic moment on the show, joining her previous video, “Let’s Go to the Mall.” Was that really Alan Thicke making a cameo in the video? Greatness.
  • The Mentalist – This episode was better than the surfing teens episode, but I did peg the killer from the first time we saw him. The thing that keeps me coming back to the show is Patrick Jane’s character, and his interesting approach to investigating.
  • 30 Rock – I can’t say enough about how thrilled I am that this show is finally back. I usually can’t stop laughing in between jokes, and such was the case in the season premiere. My favorite development was Jack’s quest to work his way back to the top, from his willingness to start in the mail room, to his horror at learning that Kathy, the inept CEO, was wearing Dora the Explorer underwear “intended for an obese child.” So random and funny! Every character had a chance to shine, and I am loving Will Arnett as Devon Banks. I hope he is more than just a guest star this season.

As I said before, I have been separated from my DVR for four days, but now that we’ve been reunited, I will soon start playing tv catch up.

 

Leave a Reply

