Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

SYTYCD 2009: Auditions in Miami and Memphis May 27, 2009

Apparently the producers told the guest judges to really ham it up this year. Last week we had kooky Sonya, praising anyone who showed the least bit of talent, and this week it was Tyce Diorio, in Miami, lambasting all the bad dancers and taking exaggerated sighs of relief when there was a good audition. They seemed to highlight more poor auditions in this episode, and I opted to fast forward through many of those, rather than sitting through the sheer awkwardness (not to mention the waste of my time). Lil’ C took over as guest judge in Memphis. I appreciated his patience and constructive criticism, even for the worst dancers. (For example, telling that Backstreet Boy cousin to look into the dance style called trickin’.)

Only a few of the dancers stood out to me in tonight’s two hour episode:

  • Janette Manrara and Romulo Villaverde – This couple stood out to me more this year than last year. They had great chemistry, stayed in synch with each other almost the whole time, and were fun to watch. I am also glad that Janette got rid of the ugly blond streaks in her hair.
  • Talia Rickards – I was touched by Talia’s intro, about marrying her high school sweetheart only to lose him four years later in a motorcycle accident. It’s nice that she has dance as an outlet, and although her audition lacked complexity, she brought a lot of energy and strength. I see some potential for a fan favorite here. Maybe she will shine when some famous choreographers are creating her dance moves.
  • Evan Kasprzak – I thought I recognized this Gene Kelly-esque dancer from last season. He was thoroughly entertaining, and his old-style technique stood out from the crowd of more contemporary dancers. I look forward to seeing more of him, but hope he can take on a variety of dance styles. I didn’t quite get his brother’s whoopie-cushion accompanied performance. A bit too cheesy for my taste. But both of these guys will be fun to watch in Broadway routines, should either of them make it into the Top 20.

Tomorrow night we’ll see auditions in Los Angeles and Seattle. I’m anxious to move on to the real competition!

 

2 Responses to “SYTYCD 2009: Auditions in Miami and Memphis”

  1. Leah Says:

    Talia’s story is very similar to Danny’s from this year’s American Idol. So sad. I got very upset when the 18 year old girl whose father had killed himself finished dancing, and Lil C said he understood because his father took his own life, too. What a horrible coincidence. I’ve decided that tragedy amplifies talent. Talia and that 18 year old were both really good dancers, and the singers I like most tend to have had a lot of tragedy in their lives.

  2. Emily Says:

    I was also moved by Lil C’s comments to that girl about understanding her pain. I really like him as a judge. He’s very genuine and gracious, even to the most clueless contestants.


Leave a Reply

