Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

SYTYCD Season 5: Top 20 Elimination Round June 11, 2009

The Bottom Three Couples – I correctly predicted the bottom three after last night’s performances. These three couples lacked chemistry, and Paris/Tony and Asuka/Vitolio were too soft in their execution and stage presence.

  • Paris and Tony
  • Asuka and Vitolio
  • Karla and Jonathan

The Solos

  • Paris – “It Doesn’t Hurt” by Katie Thompson – I wasn’t impressed by her solo. She didn’t seem fully invested but was instead just going through the motions.
  • Tony – “Early in the Morning” by the Gap Band – My opinion of Tony is still the same: he relies on his personality and theatrics to carry him through the competition, but a silly outfit isn’t enough to distract the judges from the fact that he is way out of his league compared to Jonathan, and especially to Vitolio.
  • Asuka – “Did Ya” by BoA – Something about her solo grossed me out. It was too sultry for what it was, and I hated that she was basically wearing a bra as a top.
  • Vitolio – “We Belong Together” by Gavin DeGraw – I was impressed by him! In fact, his was the only solo tonight that did impress me. He was so strong and mesmerizing. I didn’t know anything about him before this week, but now I want to know more.
  • Karla – “You Make Me Feel (Like a Natural Woman)” by Aretha Franklin – Her solo was the best of the girls, but still not impressive. She seemed shy and at times awkward during her solo.
  • Jonathan – “Krazy” by Pitbull feat. Lil Jon – Apparently Jonathan is trying to be this year’s Neil, by using acrobatics and a pretty face to charm the ladies. It won’t work on me! Too much cheese right now for me to vote for him.

Before the judges’ verdict, I picked Paris and Tony to go home. And it turns out the judges felt the same way. They seemed like the obvious choice. Tony isn’t as well-trained as most of the other contestants, and maybe Paris had the bad luck of being his partner, but now we’ll never know how she would have done with someone else. I won’t miss either of them, but I wish them well in their continued dance careers!

Related Post:

 

4 Responses to “SYTYCD Season 5: Top 20 Elimination Round”

  1. Lisa B. Says:

    I’m glad that Tony went home tonight. I felt like he was given too many chances and shouldn’t have been in the top 20 in the first place. None of the ladies’ solo dances impressed me, but I think the judges made the right choice. Now let’s just hope there won’t be any storms or some national crisis next week so we can watch the performances on HD as they’re meant to be watched! That was kind of annoying watching the other 6 on the internet.

  2. Chris B Says:

    I completely agree with your assesment of the dancing last night. I was telling Lisa that Tony would be fun to have at a party, but his dancing doesn’t really look like much more than that. (I wonder if he dances better with a few beers in him.)

    Also, as you correctly indicated, none of the ladies solos impressed me. I think it would be nice if the remaining 4 from that group would be the next 4 people to leave. I have some favorites in the upper group, but all of the upper group seems to be more skilled and better at executing than those that were in the bottom group.

    • Emily Says:

      Chris,
      I also wouldn’t miss any of the dancers who escaped elimination last night, except maybe Vitolio. His solo sparked my interest enough that I’d like to see him stick around at least for awhile.

  3. Mike Says:

    Hey! I remember reading your posts on SYTYCD last season! As for the performances Top 20 week, I have to agree with most of your comments. I was disappointed that Asuka/Vitolio got that crappy Tyce DiOrio choreography, and although I thought they could’ve added more personality to the performance, I think they did pretty darned good. If you imagine any other couple doing that routine, I would imagine the same result..

    Hm, I actually enjoyed Asuka’s and Vitolio’s solos.. U mentioned that Asuka’s solo was too sultry, but I think all Latin Ballroom dancers dance rather “sexy” and wear sexy clothing anyways. Hopefully you’ll still keep an open mind about her. I’m praying that they do well from here on out.. (it can’t get much worse after getting a Tyce Broadway routine).


Leave a Reply

