Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

SYTYCD Season 5: The Top 12 Elimination Round July 9, 2009

The Bottom Three Couples

  • Caitlin and Jason – The minute their names were called, I think I heard their death knell.
  • Jeanine and Phillip – I’m not surprised to see them here. Anyone stuck with that Russian folk dance would be doomed.
  • Melissa and Ade – I’m really surprised that they are here, but I suppose it’s because they were outshone by Brandon and Janette this week.

My thoughts: I’m really surprised that Randi and Evan escaped the bottom three this week! They must have a really huge and devoted following, because their performances weren’t really enough to keep them safe this time. I like them, but I’ve been judging the contestants more this season based on individual performances rather than how I feel about them overall. (Which, for example, is how one week I am not impressed at all by Kupono, but the next he wows me.) I would rather Kayla and Kupono have been in the bottom three than Melissa and Ade, but I have to admit that they deserved to be safe, based on their fantastic and powerful “grip of addiction” contemporary performance last night. So, who goes home? I would be devastated to see Melissa, Ade, or Jeanine go. Which means I’m hoping for Caitlin, and either Phillip or Jason, to be sent home. Since the show runners will want Phillip in the top ten for the tour, I think Jason will be the one to go.

The Solos

  • Caitlin – “Stand by Me” by Playing for Change – Maybe it’s my lack of formal dance knowledge, but I didn’t see much to be impressed by in her solo. To me, it looked like she had already accepted that she was going home, so she just decided to have fun for her last nationally televised performance. It wasn’t bad; it just wasn’t great.
  • Jason – “Calm Touching” by Evaline – Wow! This guy really wants to stay in the competition! He came storming out of the gate and never let up. Either the judges will see it as too little too late, an act of desperation, or a reason to keep him in the competition.
  • Jeanine – “Baby’s Romance” by Chris Garneau – I just love to watch her dance. She has so much confidence and control.
  • Phillip – “The Diva Dance” from The Fifth Element – Of course his solo is phenomenal, but since Nigel just said that the judges base their decision on the whole season, Phillip really should be the guy going home tonight. I mean, they could bring him on the tour as an alternate.
  • Melissa – “Kashira” by Kodo – I had never noticed just how strong and muscular she is! It was fun to see a ballerina solo, and she brought some funky personality to it.
  • Ade – “Windowdipper” by Jib Kidder – First of all, what a bizarre song! When his solo started, I thought my desktop computer was freaking out in the next room, and then I realized it was his song. The strange music mix complemented his quirky clothes and dance style. He has an amazing leaping and flipping ability, both enhanced by his smooth touch and movements. I really hope they keep him around!

Who the Judges Sent Home

  • Caitlin – Did you notice the sobbing from the audience when Nigel broke the news that she was the one leaving the competition? How heartbreaking. 😦  That was probably her sister who went through Vegas week with her. I wish Caitlin well, but am relieved that two of my faves, Melissa and Jeanine, survived.
  • Phillip – Wow! I am surprised but pleased that the judges sent him home. It makes perfect sense. He lacks the technique and training of the others. I am happy for Jason that he will have a chance to prove himself with another partner. He and Caitlin just never clicked. And everybody wins, kind of. Phillip and Caitlin will still have the fun of being on the tour, but we the viewers will have the pleasure of watching all the best dancers continue in the competition.

Ranking the Top Ten – As we look forward to new pairings next week, it’s time to examine the dancers on an individual basis. Here’s my attempt to rank them from my favorite to least favorite. Who are your favorites?

  1. Jeanine
  2. Melissa
  3. Janette
  4. Brandon
  5. Ade
  6. Evan
  7. Randi
  8. Kayla
  9. Jason
  10. Kupono

Related Post:

 

4 Responses to “SYTYCD Season 5: The Top 12 Elimination Round”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I was very surprised Melissa and Ade were in the bottom three, but was pretty confident neither of them would go home tonight. The judges made the right choices in not having Caitlin and Phillip in the top 10. Phillip is amazing at what he does, but never wowed in any other style. I’m glad Nigel did say they didn’t take into account the Russian fold dance for letting him go.
    I’m not sure in what order I would rank the top 10. Pretty similar to your list, but probably would put Randi ahead of Janette.

  2. Leah Says:

    I missed the show, so when I first started reading your post, I was afraid Jason had gone home. I’m a big fan of his, so that would have been very upsetting to me. Jeanine is your favorite? I never even remember who she is.

    • Emily Says:

      Yes, I really like Jeanine. She has always stood out to me in her partnership with Phillip. It will be interesting to see how new pairings change or reinforce my opinions of the dancers. Based on how I ranked the top ten, I apparently like the girls more than the guys this season.


Leave a Reply

