Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

Unzipping My Case Logic Cassette Carrying Case: Part Two July 20, 2009

Last week I revealed the lineup of songs on my cassette tapes from the late ’80s and early ’90s. This week I move on to my high school years, 1993-1995. I’ve still been unable to locate the cassettes from my senior year of high school and freshman year of college. After that, I stored away my tapes and moved on completely to the world of CDs (I started buying CDs around my junior year of high school, but kept recording songs off the radio or friends’ tapes until ’96). I am still hoping those tapes will turn up because they represent the last remnant of an era.

The good news is that the songs I’m going to list today are some of my favorites, especially the ones on the ’94-’95 tape. That was my junior year of high school, and it was around that time that I came across 93.1 FM, a radio station out of Alexandria, LA, that played edgier music than the more pop and top-40 oriented 101.9 out of Monroe. On 93.1, I discovered a whole new world of music that I loved! Before we get to junior year, take a look at this cassette of songs from sophomore year.

  • Songs from Sophomore Year (1993-1994) – Well, apparently I had moved on from my freshman year country phase, and into sentimental pop music from Celine Dion and Amy Grant, mixed with ’90s grunge and rock. I love the over the top sound of Collective Soul, the hyperactiveness of EMF, and the sweet harmonies of Extreme.
    • Side One

      • “Smells Like Nirvana” – Weird Al
      • “Come As You Are” – Nirvana
      • “Breathe” – Collective Soul
      • “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down” – George Michael (I liked this song so much that I had to have it on two tapes – it’s also on one from ’92)
      • “Beauty and the Beast” – Celine Dion (yikes! )
      • “Remember the Time” – Michael Jackson
      • “Good for Me” – Amy Grant
      • “Everything About You” – Ugly Kid Joe
      • “To Be with You” – Mr. Big (great song!)
      • “Best for Last” – Vanessa Williams
      • “More Than Words” – Extreme (“Now that I’ve tried to talk to you and make you understand, all you have to do is close your eyes and just reach out your hands…”)
    • Side Two
      • “Bohemian Rhapsody” – Queen (I was a fan of the Wayne’s World soundtrack)
      • “Something to Talk About” – Bonnie Raitt (one of my favorite singalong songs)
      • “Mysterious Ways” – U2
      • “Everything About You” – Ugly Kid Joe (guess I forgot it was on Side One)
      • “Smells Like Teen Spirit” – Nirvana
      • “My Lovin’” – En Vogue (“Never gonna get it, never gonna get it, never gonna get – wh-wh-wh-whoa!”)
      • “I Will Remember You” – Amy Grant
      • “Lies” – EMF
      • “Unbelievable” – EMF

  • Songs from Junior Year (1994-1995) – Looking back over these songs, I think I can officially say that the mid-90s is my favorite musical era. REM? Offspring? Radiohead? Awesome, awesome, awesome. I love all the songs on this tape. They don’t make music like this anymore.
    • Side One
      • “The Ballad of Peter Pumpkinhead” – Crash Test Dummies (“Peter Pumpkinhead went to town, spreading wisdom and cash around…”)
      • “Strange Currencies” – REM
      • “Come out and Play (Keep ‘Em Separated)” – The Offspring
      • “Loser” – Beck (“And my time is a piece of wax fallin’ on a termite, that’s chokin’ on the splinters.”)
      • “Creep” – Radiohead
      • “If You Leave” – OMD (I was ten years late recording this song from Pretty in Pink, but it’s a good one)
      • “Have You Ever Loved a Woman” – Bryan Adams
      • “Losing My Religion” – REM
      • “You Oughta Know” – Alanis Morissette
      • “Breakfast At Tiffany’s” – Deep Blue Something
      • ‘Til I Hear It from You” – Gin Blossoms
      • “Can’t Help Falling in Love” – UB40
    • Side Two
      • “Runaway” – Real McCoy
      • “Misery” – Soul Asylum
      • “Here for You” – Firehouse
      • “December” – Collective Soul
      • “Come to My Window” – Melissa Ethridge
      • “I Live My Life for You” – Firehouse (sigh…)
      • “Say It Ain’t So” – Weezer
      • “I Only Wanna Be with You” – Hootie and the Blowfish
      • “I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) – The Proclaimers (Love the song, love Benny and Joon)
      • “Come and Get Your Love” – Real McCoy
      • “As I Lay Me Down” – Sophie Hawkins

  • Songs from Junior Year, cont’d (1995) – I’m going to assume I was recording these songs at the end of junior year, but it could also have been the beginning of my senior year. This is quite an eclectic collection. Apparently I had figured out how to record songs off of my parents’ record collection and onto my blank tapes. The result: a cassette tape that features songs from Bye Bye Birdie and The Music Man, mixed with Bon Jovi, Aerosmith, and Stone Temple Pilots. I guess I had to be in a weird mood to listen to this one. I stand by all of these songs except perhaps “Lucas with the Lid Off.” That one hasn’t held up well over time. Check out the video here and see what you think.
    • Side One
      • “Overture” – from Bye Bye Birdie
      • “How Lovely to Be a Woman” – from Bye Bye Birdie
      • “The Telephone Hour” – from Bye Bye Birdie (“What’s the story, morning glory, what’s the word, hummingbird. Did you hear about Hugo and Kim?”)
      • “Honestly Sincere” – from Bye Bye Birdie
      • “Hymn for a Sunday Evening” – from Bye Bye Birdie
      • “One Last Kiss” – from Bye Bye Birdie
      • “One Boy” – from Bye Bye Birdie
      • “A Lot of Livin’ to Do” – from Bye Bye Birdie
      • “Rosie and Bye Bye Birdie” (Finale) – from Bye Bye Birdie
      • “Bed of Roses” – Bon Jovi
      • “Blaze of Glory” – Bon Jovi
      • “Always” – Bon Jovi (these three were from the greatest hits album Cross Road)
      • “Goodnight My Someone” – Music Man
      • “Sincere”- Music Man
      • “Being in Love”- Music Man
      • “Gary, Indiana” – Music Man
      • “Lida Rose and Will I Ever Tell You” – Music Man
    • Side Two
      • “Runaway Train” – Soul Asylum
      • “Sun Maid” – Soul Asylum
      • “Crying” – Aerosmith
      • “Amazing” – Aerosmith
      • “Crazy” – Aerosmith (All three of these Aerosmith songs sounded like different versions of the same tune, but I didn’t mind.)
      • “What’s the Frequency, Kenneth?” – REM
      • “Another Night” – Real McCoy
      • “Lucas with the Lid Off” – Lucas
      • “Interstate Love Song” – Stone Temple Pilots

I’ll leave you with this video of The Offspring’s “Come Out and Play.” Every time I hear this song it reminds me of how my friends and I used to drive around town in my Toyota Tercel, with the windows rolled down and the music turned up. Good times.

 

3 Responses to “Unzipping My Case Logic Cassette Carrying Case: Part Two”

  1. Leah Says:

    I so love “The Ballad of Peter Pumpkinhead”!

    I still have my tapes with a lot of these songs on them, too. Heather and I were just discussing how “More Than Words” will have to be one of our campfire songs.

  2. Lindsay Says:

    Our HS music tastes are frighteningly similar. OK, so for the most part it was just radio, but I wouldn’t mind getting my hands on those tapes of yours. OK, I wouldn’t have had Bye Bye Birdie or Music Man, but just replace them with Les Miserables and & Phantom of the Opera (and Rent senior year).

  3. quartet-man Says:

    In addition to the post I made on the previous one, I do like some pop and CCM too although “More Than Words” was the ONLY song by Extreme I liked. :-)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.