Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

SYTYCD: The 100th Episode (and top 8 results show) July 23, 2009

Welcome to the 100th episode! Cat celebrated the occasion by wearing a hideous tiger dress. The opening Mia Michaels’-choreographed Chorus Line routine seemed appropriately dramatic and festive for the 100th episode, but I really started getting excited when I saw Pasha, Joshua, and so many other past contestants sitting in the audience. (Still conspicuously absent are season three finalists Danny and Sabra. What’s up with that?) The video montage highlighting the show’s five seasons actually made me tear up. I didn’t watch the show until season three, but I’ve been fully invested ever since.

Special Performances

  • Hok and Jaime’s “Hummingbird and the Flower” routine by Wade Robson – I never get tired of watching this Emmy-nominated routine. It’s so strange and beautiful.
  • Travis and Heidi’s bench routine – I’ve never seen a prop used so well as in this routine.
  • A Wade Robson “Ramalama” group routine featuring season two contestants – It was fun to see Wade himself front and center during this performance. The group routines are usually pretty forgettable, but this one is quite striking and impressive, not to mention fun.
  • Katie Holmes’ dance for charity – So why is Katie Holmes such an impressive guest dancer? It’s nice that she’s working with a charity (www.dizzyfeetfoundation.org), and that she’s friends with Tyce Diorio, but I’m not sure people rush to turn on their tvs to see Katie dance. It was pretty lame. There was a silly opening with her arriving in a car, and then it looks like she performed onstage in an empty theater. Why couldn’t she show up when the show was being recorded like everyone else? The poor attempt at lip-synching was the third strike against Katie. They should have included another SYTYCD favorite performance in place of this.

Bottom Two Girls – I’m not surprised to see these two here. I think that Brandon is the one who kept Janette out of the bottom three couples while they were together, and now that they aren’t together anymore, she finds herself in danger of going home for the first time. And I think that it will be Janette going home. I do like her, but somebody has to go, and I think that Kayla did really well on her solo and her dances with Jason last night.

  • Kayla
  • Janette

Bottom Two Guys – I’m glad that Ade was safe, but what the heck? Brandon is in the bottom two?! He was crazy good last night! Out of these two, I certainly hope Jason is the one going home.

  • Jason
  • Brandon

Who Was Sent Home

  • Janette – 😦    I like all of these girls, so I am sad to see her go. Nigel said that she was his favorite, and he really wanted her to win this year. You’d never know it by his comments this season, which have leaned heavily in favor of Kayla. Maybe he’s trying some reverse psychology?
  • Jason – He’s been an underdog from the beginning, so I suppose he should be proud to have made it this far. He started out with the disadvantage of not being seen much during the audition episodes, and then got stuck with lackluster partners. That being said, I am relieved that he went home instead of Brandon. But Jason seems like a really sweet, genuine guy, and I wish him the best.

Ranking the Top Six – Well, here we are, just a couple of weeks away from the finale. It should be easier for me to rank my favorites now, so here they are from least to most favorite. But really, I like all of them pretty well, which hasn’t been the case in past seasons. Who are your favorites?

  • Evan
  • Ade
  • Kayla
  • Melissa
  • Brandon
  • Jeanine

Related Post

 

4 Responses to “SYTYCD: The 100th Episode (and top 8 results show)”

  1. Chris Says:

    As for your comments about Katie Holmes…I couldn’t agree more. She’s not even a dancer by “trade.” She’s an actress. And famous mostly for who she married. I’m glad she’s supporting this charity, because I think it’s a good idea. However, I think, as you mentioned, that her time could have been better used.

    Plus, as for her “performance”…Lisa said the same thing you did about it being an empty studio. The background didn’t look right and there were other things that seemed “off.” Plus, if you want to convince us that she’s singing live, have her WEAR A MIC! For cryin’ out loud! It’s a dead give-away that she’s not actually singing.

    Anyway, as far as the people who are gone, I’m okay with it. I didn’t like Janette much. Again, she’s only stood out to me because of her choreography, not so much for her dancing. Jason has definitely grown on me in the last few weeks, but I like all four guys that were left. Evan is my favorite. As for the other three, it’s about even.

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Janette was my favorite dancer. I love her spicy, fun personality and the way she could nail anything that the choreographers give her. I was really surprised Kayla was in the bottom two–I thought Melissa should have been in the bottom and gotten sent home. She’s been pretty good, but I did not think she did the cha cha well. I felt like she was holding back.

    Jeanine has been slowly growing on me, and I have no doubt that she will be in the Top 4.

    I was shocked to see Brandon and Jason in the bottom, but I agree, out of those two, I certainly hoped it was Jason going home!

    I can’t understand why people keep keeping Evan in. He just doesn’t nail the dances like the other dancers. I’m afraid his adorable face just wins everybody over every time. He does have an adorable face–but I wish people didn’t base their votes so much on that.

    Glad Ade’s still in. I hope he’s in the Top 4.

    Out of the remaining girls, Kayla should be the other Top 4 girl, but I’ve sure had trouble being won over by her.

  3. Chris B. Says:

    Well, I can speak for myself when I say that Evan’s face does nothing for me. It’s his overall style. He entertains me. And, in my estimation, he has danced as well as any of the guys left. Plus, he’s easy to overlook because he doesn’t rely so heavily on tumbling. He tends to only use it to augment an already strong routine. However, when he does it, he’s as strong as anyone on the show. (Check out the arial he did in his solo, the one where he twisted and flipped. It was very dynamic and was rhythmically very sound.) Anyway, I think ALL the dancers left are great dancers, but, like anyone, I have my favorites.

  4. Lisa Says:

    I too was surprised that Brandon was in the bottom 2 guys. It didn’t surprise me that Janette was in the bottom 2 girls and that she got sent home. Like you, Emily, I thought Nigel’s comment about her being his favorite and “winning it all” seemed off. By ALL the judges comments, you would think Kayla was their favorite and the one they want to win. They almost never have anything bad to say about her.

    Anyway, of all the dancers left, I really like them all and it’s hard to put them in order. I think Melissa may be my favorite overall, but again, they’re all great.

    I did enjoy seeing some of the dances from previous seasons that I didn’t watch. I’ve heard so much about the bench routine, and was glad to finally see it. It wasn’t as outstanding as I expected, but still good and enjoyable. I too don’t know what the big deal about Katie Holmes was, and didn’t even think she danced all that great! Oh well. I can’t believe this season is almost over. I’ve really enjoyed it.


Leave a Reply

