Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

Ipod Shuffle: What I’ve Been Listening To August 10, 2009

A few weeks ago, I wrote a series of posts about the music listening habits of my youth. I have long since graduated from dubbed cassette tapes to mp3s, but I never cease to be amazed by the still relatively new ability to have thousands of songs at my fingertips. I gravitate toward certain artists and albums when I am exercising or driving around town, but when I put my ipod on shuffle, I often come across classics that I’d forgotten about for awhile.

Here are a few of the songs that came up on my last cardio session at the gym:

  • “Free Fallin'” by Tom Petty – I loved this song long before Tom Cruise belted it out on the highway in Jerry Maguire.
  • “100 Years” by Five for Fighting – Most of Five for Fighting’s songs sound the same, but I really love this one. It’s a little bit sad, but also a celebration of all of life’s phases.
  • “I Don’t Wanna Be” by Gavin DeGraw – So fun to sing along to!
  • “Until” by Sting – From the movie Kate and Leopold, this song showcases Sting’s smooth voice and features a lovely classical guitar.
  • “Trouble” by Ray LaMontagne – I am still getting to know this soulful, old school singer, but this is one of my favorite of his songs.
  • “Folding Chair” by Regina Spektor – I am in love with Regina’s latest album, Far, and this quirky, upbeat song is one of the catchiest ones on the album.

And now, I’ll do the Ipod shuffle and list out the next 10 songs that come up:

  • “I Will Buy You a New Life” by Everclear – Oh, what a fun ’90s song! For some reason this one doesn’t play very often.
  • “Hate Me” by Blue October – 😦   Such an intense song, but very good.
  • “Everything’s Not Lost” by Coldplay – A Coldplay song would have to come up in the rotation. I probably have more Coldplay, Ben Folds, and Dave Matthews Band songs than anything else. (The Dave Matthews songs are my husband’s – I got tired of them a long time ago.)
  • “Peace (A Communion Blessing from St. Joseph’s Square)” by Rich Mullins – A great little slice of Americana. This folksy, humanitarian artist died way before his time, about ten years ago, but he left behind some great music.
  • “We Might As Well Be Strangers” by Keane – Cool band, but I can’t listen to their stuff and be productive at the same time. Their style is just too mellow, and makes me want to curl up under a blanket on the sofa.
  • “Good” by Better Than Ezra – A fun song from my college days. “And it’s good, a-livin with you wa-haw.”
  • “Here in America” by Rich Mullins – Who knew that Rich Mullins would show up twice in ten songs? I only have about ten of his songs in itunes! I love that this song celebrating the landscapes and people of America features an accordion.
  • “To Make You Feel My Love” by Billy Joel – Great song, but a little more dramatic than my mood right now. Next.
  • “Hard to Handle” by the Black Crowes – Yay! More classic ’90s music. I had no idea what they were saying most of the time, but the music sure was fun.
  • “Yele” by Wyclef Jean – I prefer Wyclef’s Carnivale Vol II album, so I am not too familiar with this song from Carnivale. My husband introduced me to Wyclef, and I wasn’t impressed at first, but now Carnivale Vol. II is actually one of my favorite albums.

It’s probably clear from these lists that I lean more toward the lowkey end of the musical spectrum, but that doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate some louder or heavier stuff when it’s worthy of admiration. What have you been listening to lately? Any recommendations of what I should be listening to?

 

2 Responses to “Ipod Shuffle: What I’ve Been Listening To”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    Fun! I am doing the iPod shuffle too. Here you go:
    1) Ring Ring by Mika
    2) Soldier’s Poem by Muse
    3) Walnut Tree by Keane
    4) Praying for Time by Carrie Underwood (George Michael cover!)
    5) Take Me for Longing by Alison Krauss & Union Station
    6) O Verona (Nellee Hooper from Romeo + Juliet soundtrack)
    7) O Holy Night by Barlowgirl (I guess I have some Christmas music on my ipod…)
    8) Garden by Pearl Jam
    9) Pushin’ Me Away by Jonas Brothers 😀
    10) Erase by Mika

    I wish two Mika songs hadn’t shown up. That isn’t as representative of my musical tastes. Plus there should have been some good musical numbers on there!

  2. Leah Says:

    I wanna play, too.

    1. “Comfortably Numb” by Pink Floyd – Have to keep going; this one depresses me.
    2. “Sweet Caroline” by Me First and the Gimme Gimmes – These guys do really fast punk covers of famous songs. I love them! They always get me pepped up and help me stay awake while driving.
    3. “Separate Lives” by Phil Collins – I didn’t even know I had this song. Strange.
    4. “Lady” by Regina Spektor – Honestly, not one of my favorites of hers.
    5. “Sail On” by Lionel Richie – I would say my Sansa must be in a sad mood, but most of my mp3s are sad-sounding songs. I just can’t help it.
    6. “Die Tonight/Live Forever” by Innerpartysystem – I guess these guys qualify as techno, but they sound very 80s, so I like them.
    7. “If She Would Have Been Faithful” by Chicago – Not one of my favorites of theirs, but I have all the songs from their Greatest Hits album. What an awkward-sounding title.
    8. “Unforgiven” by Metallica – I prefer “Unforgiven 2.” Sansa’s kinda letting me down today.
    9. “Obsession” by Animotion – I recently downloaded a bunch of songs from Heather’s computer. I took all the 80s I saw and this was one of them.
    10. “A Daily Anthem” by David Cook – I am pleased with David’s first album. I look forward to the next one.


Leave a Reply

