Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

Fall 2009 Preview: NBC’s New Shows August 22, 2009

When I searched for the official fall preview on NBC.com, I was surprised to learn that the peacock network is only premiering four shows this fall. And it is quite a lackluster crowd, save for one that is full of potential.

Will Avoid Like the Plague

  • The Jay Leno Show – There was much rejoicing and dancing in the street in my family when Jay Leno “retired” from The Tonight Show. I disliked everything about the show with him as a host. If many Americans feel the same way about him as I do, then NBC’s plan to showcase him in primetime five nights a week is a monumentally bad one. This show is probably the reason that they don’t have more new shows to premiere. Think of all the valuable real estate they are wasting in the 9:00/10:00 hour!

Not Interested


  • Mercy – The description from NBC.com: “You haven’t seen inside a hospital until you’ve seen it through the eyes of those who know it best: its nurses.” I haven’t had much interest in medical shows since Grey’s Anatomy became absurdist and House’s original team broke up, and there’s nothing that makes me want to watch this one. If the characters were compelling, or if the nurses vs. doctors theme weren’t so heavy-handed (as it seems from the promo), then it might be going somewhere good. Instead, it’s just another bland looking medical drama. Michelle Trachtenberg (Dawn on Buffy the Vampire Slayer) could do better than her role as a rookie nurse. I’ll skip this show all together, unless I’m really bored the night it premieres.
  • Trauma – The description from NBC.com: “An action-packed drama looking at one of the most dangerous medical professions in the world: first responder paramedics.” The only reason I would watch this show is that Peter Berg (Friday Night Lights) is the executive producer. Well, that and it’s set in San Francisco. But then, it probably isn’t actually filmed in San Fran. But those reasons just aren’t enough. The promo is weak, the premise is too generic, and the cast has a few familiar faces, but none that would make the show must-see. Didn’t they make this show before, and wasn’t it called Third Watch?

Very Interested


  • Community – Description from NBC.com: “Community focuses on a band of misfits at Greendale Community College who form an unlikely bond.” I am very excited about this show! The preview made me laugh out loud. A lot. I love everyone in the cast, and I have a special interest in the premise since I teach at a community college. Even though NBC has hit a slump when it comes to one hour dramas, at least they are getting their comedy right. I’ll be adding this show to my must-see Thursday night comedy lineup.

That’s it. Pretty weak for a fall lineup. It’s not like the network has an amazing pre-existing lineup. I’ll only be tuning in on Thursday nights for The Office, 30 Rock, Community, and perhaps Parks and Recreation. There are a few more new shows that will premiere in the spring, out of which Parenthood looks the most interesting. Maybe I’m just not in NBC’s target demographic, but it seems to me that they aren’t trying real hard to come up with interesting new shows. What do you think?

Related Posts

 

2 Responses to “Fall 2009 Preview: NBC’s New Shows”

  1. stacey Says:

    Ah, I’m so glad to see that someone else feels the way I do about Jay Leno. It seems so absurd to bring him back.

    Also, I can’t wait for the premiere of Community either! It looks very funny. I hope it won’t disappoint!

  2. Jenny Says:

    I’m really looking forward to Community, too! My roommate is a teacher at a community college and thinks it’s going to be great.


Leave a Reply

