Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

Fall 2009 Preview: The CW’s New Shows September 3, 2009

I will now round out my take on the major networks’ new series with a look at the CW’s new shows. I haven’t watched anything on the former WB since Veronica Mars was canceled two years ago. I thought I would be permanently finished with this youth-skewing network, but they have at least one show that has piqued my interest this season. Let’s take a look.

Not Interested At All

  • Melrose Place – I somehow managed to avoid this show in its original incarnation. Well, I was 14 when it started, which probably made me a bit too young to be watching a trashy primetime soap about 20- and 30-somethings living in an apartment complex. Strange, then, that they are reviving said trashy soap on a network geared toward teens. I see no reason to watch this show. I don’t like soap operas, and I don’t know any of the actors, and based on the preview I watched, it doesn’t look like any of these characters are likable. However, I am sure it will find an audience and will provide some good watercooler topics for people who are interested in that sort of thing.
  • The Beautiful Life – Description from cwtv.com: “The life of a high-fashion model appears glamorous and sexy, but as every new model quickly learns, behind the beautiful façade is a world of insecurity and cut-throat competition. Two teenage models who are about to discover this world for themselves are Raina Mayer (Sara Paxton, “Last House on the Left”), a stunning beauty with a secret past, and Chris Andrews (Benjamin Hollingsworth, “The Line”), a strikingly handsome Iowa farm boy.” This is another show that simply isn’t for me. I would never watch this show. I have no interest in high fashion, and I am sure this is yet another primetime soap in the making. Kudos to Ashton Kutcher for getting involved with a project that is a somewhat new approach to the genre, by setting it in the world of fashion. I can’t think of another show besides reality-based ones that has had such a premise. Too bad I’m just not interested. The CW was smart to schedule it after America’s Next Top Model. They will probably gain more viewers that way.

Somewhat Interested


  • The Vampire Diaries – This is the only CW show premiering this fall that I’m remotely interested in. I always give vampire shows a chance. Sometimes they are great (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel); sometimes they are lackluster (Moonlight). I am guessing this one will fall somewhere in between. I’ve heard the book series upon which it is based is mediocre at best. It seems obvious that Vampire Diairies is the CW’s attempt to capitalize on the huge popularity of all things Twilight. A human girl (played by Nina Dobrev from Degrassi: The Next Generation) falls in love with a mysterious, handsome boy who happens to be a vampire… However, Twilight fans may not be willing to just watch this show because it is about vampires. Most of them are quite obsessed with dear Edward and company, so these new fangs on the block may not measure up. It’s nice to see Ian Somerhalder (Boone on Lost) back on tv, and I also know Paul Wesley from his role on Everwood as Amy’s drug-addicted boyfriend. He was also the star of the short-lived supernatural drama Fallen. It will be hard for me to believe Somerhalder as the villain, but I’m willing to see what he does with his character, Damon the ancient and evil vampire. So, yes, I am skeptical as to whether or not CW can do a vampire show well, after all the shows they have managed to mess up over the past few years. But I’ll tune in as long as it holds my interest (and doesn’t conflict with my other shows).

The CW has two more shows scheduled to premiere at midseason: Blonde Charity Mafia and Life Unexpected. Blonde Charity Mafia sounds terrifying – something about the lives of Washington, D.C.’s most influential 20-something alpha girls. It’s described as a docu-series. I don’t know if that means it’s a reality show, or simply a drama based on reality. I don’t want to find out! The other “coming soon” show sounds potentially decent. Life Unexpected is about a 15-year old teenager, Lux, who decides to become an emancipated minor after spending most of her life in foster homes. During the legal process that follows, she meets her biological father, 30-something “aging frat boy” Nate, and her biological mother, Cate, a local radio celebrity. Cate also has a radio DJ boyfriend, Ryan. A judge grants temporary custody of Lux to Nate and Cate (how cute – rhyming names), and they decide to “make a belated attempt to give her the family she deserves.” It’s nice to see Shiri Appleby (Roswell) back on the WB, I mean CW. She’ll be playing Lux’s mother, Cate. It’s also nice to welcome Kerr Smith back to the network, although I have a hard time seeing Jack from Dawson’s Creek as an aging frat boy. I hope I remember to watch this show at midseason. It could be the next Everwood. Family drama, interesting characters… It at least looks like a step up from One Tree Hill and 90210. That’s something, right?

Will you watch any shows on The CW this season?

Related Posts

 

3 Responses to “Fall 2009 Preview: The CW’s New Shows”

  1. Dolores Says:

    I’m really interested in Life Unexpected. I watched a couple of scenes from the pilot and it’s awesome! Quicky, funny, very good dialogues and performances.
    I don’t agree that much in the comparisson with Everwood. Maybe in the heartful thing, but I think it’s a pretty unique show.
    I insist, it has drama but it has lot of comedy situations.
    It’s hard to believe it’s in the CW…

    • Emily Says:

      I’m interested in it, too. My comparison to Everwood was a positive one. If it shares Everwood’s tendency toward more realistic family drama and well-developed characters (along with the heartfelt aspect that you mentioned), then it will be right up my alley. I appreciate some humor as well, so I look forward to that.

  2. alexx Says:

    THE VAMPIRE DIARIES IS AAAAWWWWWWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEEE


Leave a Reply

