Eclaire Fare

Enjoying Pop Culture, One Bite at a Time

SYTYCD Season 6: The Top 14 Results Show November 18, 2009

Cat was pretty in pink for tonight’s results show. Not sure what to say about her poofy shoes, though. I thoroughly enjoyed the opening group dance to Imogen Heap’s “Aha.” I’m not sure what it was all supposed to mean: were they ghosts, or works of art come to life? Who knows, but the sheets draped over them at the beginning were mysterious and a little creepy. I’d expect nothing less from Wade and Amanda Robson. I never mentioned how much I liked last week’s African themed group number. It really gave Russell a chance to shine.

On to the results…

The Bottom Three Couples

  • Karen and Kevin – I think we all expected them to be here.
  • Channing and Victor – I expected this, but it was disappointing anyway.
  • Mollee and Nathan – I was surprised that their faithful followers didn’t keep them safe, but I also think they should be in the bottom. They haven’t performed as well as many of the other couples so far this season, so maybe they needed this wakeup call to kick it up a few notches.

Who the Judges Sent Home

  • Channing – This is the first elimination I’ve been sad about – the others I was pretty much indifferent to. However, I couldn’t argue with Nigel when he explained that Channing hasn’t been as much of a star as they had anticipated. There has definitely been some personality missing from her performances. She didn’t seem fully invested. Even so, I would much rather have seen Karen or Mollee sent home. I knew that Mollee would be safe, though, since there’s no way the judges will let go of this fan favorite before she makes it into the Top Ten (they have to think about the tour ticket sales, after all). However, I did disagree with Nigel when he said that Karen has been a star this season. She and Kevin’s performances weren’t all that memorable, at least not for the dancing.
  • Kevin – I agree with the judges on this one. Victor’s solo was very good, so he totally deserved to stay in the competition instead of Kevin. Nathan’s solo was also good – he seemed to have fun with it, and it had a lot of quirky touches. He looked much more relaxed than he ever does dancing with Mollee. (Can you tell I’m not a Mollee fan?)

So this result means that we’ll have a new couple next week: Victor and Karen. They will potentially be an odd pair; then again, maybe they’ll surprise us. What are your thoughts on this week’s results?

Related Post

 

2 Responses to “SYTYCD Season 6: The Top 14 Results Show”

  1. Leah Says:

    Now, see, if you weren’t skipping the judges’ comments, you’d know the dancers were works of art in the opening number. šŸ˜‰

    I was very surprised they sent Channing home. I don’t understand that at all. Should have been Karen.

  2. Vivian Says:

    At first, when I realized that Mollee and Nathan would be in the bottom three, I thought: oh, the judges are going to take this chance to get rid of the “kids” this time! I missed Mollee’s solo while doing things, but I liked Nathan’s solo.

    When Nigel praised Mollee’s solo for being mature and new, I thought: uh oh, it’s either Karen or Channing. Neither of them has grown on me yet, so I am okay with either of them leaving. However, I thought Channing’s solo is wonderful and I could see her personality in it…maybe she is just coming out of her shell?

    I think the new partnership of Karen and Victor would be interesting.


Leave a Reply

